Go Back   SUPERNISSANS.NET Nissan Owners Community > SUPERNISSANS COMMUNITY > Nissan Altima Technical Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2011, 02:16 AM

awdken is on a distinguished road
Default Stop lights not working when car is on

Hey guys, I'm new to the Altima scene; I recently bought an '08 2.5S sedan. The thing is, I recently noticed that my stop lights stop working once the car is on.

I ran a few experiments to try to isolate the issue and this is what i've noticed:
when I first get into the car, i can depress the brakes and the lights will come on, both the tail lights and the stop lights will work. When i hit the start button once (with depressing brake), they both still work, when depress the brakes and hit the start button and start the car, the stop lights stop working; the tail lights will still work if I turn my headlights on but the stop lamps never come on again.

I tried just pressing the start button through ACC and ON position without depressing the brake pedal and noticed that at ACC, the stop lights still come on, once I cycle to ON, they will no longer work. The only way to get them to turn on again is to press the start button all the way to OFF, open the door, close it and then press the brake pedal (but again it only works while the car is off).

I recently purchased an R35 starter button. I installed it AFTER having performed all these experiments in hopes that it would help--it has not, it looks nice, but did not change anything.

I went to the dealer and they wanted $50+ for the brake switch (which I considered buying, figuring it might the culprit) and $96 for a diagnostic--to start, additional diagnosing may be necessary said the Nissan tech.

Now, before shelling out what will probably be upwards of $200 to fix this, I thought I'd give this forum a try, hopefully some one out there has come across a similar issue or knows exactly what is going on.